Education in Canada begins with Elementary School (for children aged 4-13) followed by Secondary School (for ages 14+). Students who have completed the requirements from secondary school can choose to attend a post secondary school (University or College). Education is compulsory up to the age of 18 in the province of Ontario. Typically the school year is 190 days beginning the Tuesday after Labour Day and running until the last week in June.

Education in Ontario is the responsibility of the Province. Ontario’s Ministry of Education oversees publicly funded elementary and secondary schools while universities and colleges are administered by Ontario’s Ministry of Training, Colleges and Universities.

Ontario currently operates four publicly funded school systems: English and French separate school systems and English and French public school systems. Within each school system is a number of school boards which represent a geographical area. These school boards are under the authority of Ontario’s Ministry of Education and deliver the education programs to the students in their designated areas.

Important pages you find in this section: